Should’ve Known

I wish it hadn’t taken me so long to love myself,

to appreciate my unique eyes,

to love my ever changing hair,

or the way my nose sometimes crinkles.

I wish I had learned sooner,

to love my curiosity,

and the way I see the world.

I should’ve known before,

that loving my body the way it was,

was the only way to see it for what it truly is:

beautiful and strong.

I should’ve seen that loving myself,

was the only way to feel love from anyone else.

I wish I would’ve seen,

that I didn’t need proof,

or approval,

from anyone,

to know that I was worth something.

To know that I was worth much more than what I was giving myself.

I should’ve known.

But it’s better late than never.

-LR

Leave a Reply

