Maybe

If I could hold you,

maybe you could see the love I have for you.

If I could feel you near me,

maybe you could see the way you keep the darkness away.

Maybe through my touch,

you would feel the warmth you make me feel.

Maybe if you saw my smile,

you could see that yours is the reason for mine.

Maybe if you saw my eyes,

the way they brighten when you’re around,

you’d see how I can’t live without you.

And maybe if you saw my tears,

you’d know the pain I was feeling from missing you,

day in and day out.

Maybe if you could hold me,

I’d feel safe again,

and secure in  your arms.

But all I have now are words.

Words to make you feel, see and believe,

but all I can say is,

I love you beyond the capacity of words.

But maybe, if words can get us through,

then soon I can hold you again,

and then maybe you’ll see.

Just maybe.

-LR

Leave a Reply

